Anticipation….

Day #29 #SOL17 slice-of-life_individual

I know people that won’t tell their children about an upcoming event for fear of being nagged about it, non-stop, and I get that.  But for me, I love the anticipation of a trip, concert or other event.  I love planning it, having something to look forward to doing.   I love imagining all the “fun” I’ll have….

but,

but,

also forgetting about the tedium of traveling, standing in lines and the sometimes obnoxious fellow travelers and the difficulty of pleasing everyone.

My problem is that it becomes over inflated and exaggerated in my mind.  So what happens is that when the trip actually happens and I’m experiencing it, well, (struggling to admit this to myself) then sometimes, somehow, it seems a let down.  It used to happen to me at Christmas time when I would go nuts planning the perfect presents and food and er.. well… my children were too little and not always appreciative.  Let Down.

This is the time that I have to take a step back and remember that it’s about the experience.

All of the moments.

Being a writer  has helped me to do this.  I feel it has helped me in so many ways just to live a better life.

It sounds crazy, but sometimes, I have to remind myself that this is what I wanted to do and now…… just enjoy it!

7 thoughts on “Anticipation….

  1. What a great reminder of how we can control the type of experiences we have by what outlook we have about it or from setting up expectations. I love the reminder to your self that this is what you wanted to do so just enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so relatable! I build up all big events and trips so much. I even build up birthdays, and then they feel like a let down. A good reminder to stay in the moment and appreciate it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As I’ve grown older my sense of anticipation has waned. It’s not that I don’t look forward to things, but I don’t want to get too excited until the event actually occurs. Like you, writing has definitely helped me stay in the moment. Writing has also allowed me to appreciate the routine parts of life, as well. Thanks for sharing and keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

