Letter to my Daughter

Day #25 #SOL17  slice-of-life_individual

Dear Daughter,

Thank you for the phone call last night.  Our talks mean a lot to me.  You don’t always just talk, but you listen too.  Thanks for asking about my day even when you’ve had such a bad day yourself.

Last night you were very upset and worried about your son.  My grandson who is four years old and autistic.  I heard your worries about him.  Is he in the right preschool?  Do they understand him?  Do they realize how smart he is even when he can’t express himself clearly?  Why is he upset and waking up in the middle of the night? Are the other kids and his teachers being kind to him?  The sound in your voice was sheer despair.

You started working this year and it’s been difficult to trust him with others.  I also heard doubt in your own abilities.  Does he have enough therapies?  Did I do the right thing going back to work?   Am I doing enough  to help my son?

Is it my fault?

Dearest daughter…. you are the most determined and stubborn child that I have ever known.  You are a creative thinker and problem solver.  If anyone can do this, you can.

I need you to know that there is not one “right” way to handle life.  Being a mother of any child is filled things we could have or should have done “better”, but we are human and not perfect.  We do the best we can.  Your son is a beautiful, healthy, loving child with a grin as big and wide as the cheshire cat.  You have always followed your insights and been inspired to do the best thing for him despite the unabashed judgements of others.

You are fine.  Breath. I’m here for you, to listen and support.

With love and respect,

Mom

9 thoughts on “Letter to my Daughter

  1. There’s something so special about a bond between a mother and child. I’m sure you are your daughter’s biggest cheerleader and support. My mom and I talk daily, and I cherish those moments. Just being there to listen probably made all the difference. The love she has for her son and your grandson will carry you through. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As a teacher (as you know) we spend time with so many children who have their own special challenges. And I often think of the families who support those children every day of their lives. It is a special job to care for these special little lives. Your support for your daughter and grandson is beautiful and special. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  3. What a lovely post, filled with heart ache and pain but empathy and hope, too. I know it must mean so much to your daughter to have a listener in her life, as she figures out how to help her son navigate the complicated world. I am sending good thoughts to all 3 of you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful post and as a “Daughter” and a “Mom” I love everything about it. Nothing better than hearing from our OWN mothers that we are doing okay with this mothering thing, even when it’s so hard and challenging. Even when we feel that we are screwing it up! I love that you shared this special moment between you and your daughter and the great bond you have, and the love you both have for each other and your family. I’m sure it means the world to her to have your support. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is such a kind and heartfelt letter to your daughter. It is evident that your support means a great deal to her. It’s amazing when in this life we don’t have to carry the difficult things alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope you shared this wonderful and honest letter with your daughter. A letter and knowledge she will treasure forever!

    Like

Leave a Reply

