Elton John Hangover

Day #17  #SOL17  slice-of-life_individual

If you didn’t know, Elton John is on tour and made a stop in lil ole Wyoming!  I was thrilled, I got online the minute ticket sales were open and bought tickets.  Elton John is my idol.  I consider “Yellow Brick Road” my first album. Although, that’s a bit of a cheat because my real first album was “The Partridge Family” and I had a huge crush on  David Cassidy and similar teenie bopper singer Bobby Sherman.  But, I digress.

“Yellow Brick Road” was the first album I had where I felt …. cool.  I remember my friend bringing her brand new album to my house and a group of us giggly teen girls laying on the floor of my cramped bedroom in a circle with the album in the middle. We were just pouring over each lyric.  We would listen to a song, then put the needle (yes, needle) back and listen again. Over and Over.  We were so hip, we loved it so much.  The music was and is genius and I wasn’t crushing on the artist, it was the music that made us think and feel.

As soon as I had the money, I went to downtown to the nearest record store and bought my own album.

FLASH FORWARD 2017

Wednesday night I got to experience Elton John in concert for a solid 3 hours, in which time, he took no breaks, sang, played and spoke from his heart.  And I was transported.  I could see the faces of my young friends and feel our enthusiasm and excitement for the future.

I loved it so much.  Thank you Sir Elton John.  Thank you.

EltoninCapser
Sir Elton John, Wyoming, March 15th, 2017
6 thoughts on “Elton John Hangover

  1. I am so jealous! I had homemade tapes of several albums…you know the kind you made when the cassette machine was connected to the record player. I was singing “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road” to myself on my walk just the other day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like an amazing night! Best kind of hangover too! lol. I saw him back in 2004 with Billy Joel in Boston and it was such a GREAT show!!! The shows we get to go to of our favorite musicians that have literally been with us our entire life is the best experience ever. I saw Sting last week and am seeing U2 this summer in Boston, both who have been with me since childhood. Elton is up there too. Now I want to go listen to “Candle in the Wind” and “Tiny Dancer”. Sounds fantastic! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great slice, Vanessa! You brought me back to my college years when Elton John was just making it big. Tumbleweed Connection is still one of my favorite albums. I remember the time that we went to see Elton in Chicago. After a song, he stood and took a bow. I walked up to the stage with an old album, and he signed it! It was the thrill of a lifetime! I also adored Bobby Sherman. Now, I can’t get the lyrics, “Julie, Julie, Julie do you love me?” out of my head. How fun! So glad you got to enjoy your evening!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

