Swimming and my Granddaughter

“It feels like I’m swimming in blue jello.”  That’s my granddaughter Cloe. She’s beginning 5th grade this year and is almost 11 years old.

“It does?  I never thought of it that way,”  I say.  And as I swim, I imagine that I’m swimming through thick sticky jello the color of the sky.  Of course, the teacher in me can’t resist.  “If you ever write a story about swimming, you should use that description.  It captures my imagination.”

We swim some more in silence.  Both of us lost in our thoughts.  Floating.  Enjoying some precious moments in these last few days of summer.

2 thoughts on “Swimming and my Granddaughter

Leave a Reply

