Little Things

Slice of Life  My day can be going downhill so quickly that I feel I may crash and burn, never to be recovered again, when, a little thing happens. It’s so very small, tiny, infinitesimal even, yet it has the miraculous ability to turn my day from despair to hope, from the edge of giving up to a renewal of effort and from lethargy to energy.

This was one of those days, it was last Thursday and I was feeling discouraged thinking, I’m just not reaching them.  The lesson had gone sideways and I could not bring it back.  I mean, it was bad.

Then it happened, the little thing that turned my day around.  One of my students lingered after all the other students had left.  It was the day before a long weekend and he walked over to my classroom library and took a book off the shelf.  It was The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate. “I wish I could take this home and read it this weekend,” he said softly.  One and Only Ivan

I hadn’t even noticed he was still there, so I was surprised to hear his comment.  Looking up from my desk, where I sat wallowing in my self pity, I straightened and looked over at him. I smiled, “Your wish is granted. Please take that book home and read it and  let me know how you like it.  It’s one of my favorites.”  Beaming, he signed my library check-out list and left with the book tucked under his arm and plans for the weekend.  Little Things.

7 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. What a great way to start the long weekend for both of you! I always loved when kids brought back books with happy smiles on their faces-sometimes those books were the only company they had over the weekends.

    Like

  2. Ohhh, it is so true that the smallest thing can turn around a bad day. I’m dying to know the PS to the story. Did he finish Ivan? What did he think? What was it that drew him to that book?

    Like

Leave a Reply

